Raffles Institution


    The Raffles Institution Sailing Club (RISC) was started as a special interest pupil activity programme with 1-3 members each year. It was granted core-CCA status in the year 1999 with 8 members. Over the years, the club has since grown in strength to over 20 sailors with a good mix of national sailors and club sailors.

    Achievements and Highlights

    2017 National Inter-School B Division Sailing Championships

    RI – Champions

    Byte Individual: Shawn Goh (1st), Koh Yi Nian (2nd), Daniel Toh (3rd), Wong Riji (4th)


    2017 National Inter-School C Division Sailing Championships

    Optimist: RI – 2nd

    Optimist Individual: Jonathan Lio (2nd)

    Byte: RI – Champions

    Byte Individual: Dominique Koo (2nd), Maurice Ng (3rd), Dylan Ng (4th)


    29th SEA Games (Langkawi, Malaysia)

    Men’s 420 Double Handed: Koh Yi Nian & Wong Riji – 3rd

    Men’s 470 Double Handed: Daniel Toh & Xavier Ng – 4th


    470 World Championships (Thessaloniki, Greece)

    Daniel Toh & Xavier Ng – 63rd


    2017 Laser 4.7 Youth World Championships (Gdynia, Poland)

    Lee Wonn Kye – 6th (U16)


    2017 Optimist World Championships (Thailand)

    Jonathan Lio (18th)


    Dutch Youth Regatta 2017

    Laser 4.7: Lee Wonn Kye (2nd), Brandon Chia (18th)

    Laser Radial: Jacob Sze (33rd)

    Optimist: Jonathan Lio (57th), Dylan Fang (63rd), Marvin Tan (70th)

    teacher mentors

    Mr Alvin Chong

    Miss Yew Wei Zhen

    Mr Teo Chun Meng

    Mr Dave Tan