Raffles Institution

The Raffles Debaters (Year 5-6)

  • taken by Laura Ann Chan for Deck the Walls 2018, a project by the Raffles Photographic Society (Year 5-6)

    Debates involve heated exchanges or arguments over a certain motion, say, “This house would end the war on drugs”. Teams are assigned sides of the motion to debate and they have to levy rebuttals and arguments so as to emerge the more convincing side. Debate presents a unique intellectual challenge – finding two sides to any issue and being able to defend a side that is not congruous to your beliefs. The thrill of rising to give a speech, trying to squeeze as many lines of logic as you possibly can in the short eight minutes, with adrenaline coursing through your veins, is something all of us here have come to love. If you’ve ever found yourself searching for that extra adrenaline, or a space where you can debate the most random yet most important issues facing our world today – from feminism, to geopolitics, economics, culture – you’ve come to the right place.

    Find out more in Raffles Press' CCA Previews

    Achievement and Highlights

    NUS Political Association Debating Championship

    Champions: Ernest Sng (2nd best speaker), Emily Zhao (8th best speaker), Vivian Leong, Kanagavelu Navneeth, Yu Jiaqi

    Oldham Cup

    Champions: Emily Zhao (Best speaker), Vivian Leong (5th best speaker), Ernest Sng (9th best speaker)

    Youth Debate Opens

    Champions: Yeo Shi Wen (3rd best speaker), Gan Chong Jing (9th best speaker), Muhammad Dhafer, Vanessa Lim

    Hwa Chong British Parliamentary Debates

    2nd Runners-up: Emily Zhao, Ernest Sng, Vivian Leong

    MOE-ACJC Intercollegiate Debating Championship

    Semi-finalists: Ernest Sng, Vivian Leong, Emily Zhao, Lee Ningkai, Yu Jiaqi

    Singapore Polytechnic Debate Opens

    Quarter finalists: Ivan Toh, Muhammad Dhafer (3rd best speaker), Yeo Shi Wen (3rd best speaker)

    World Schools Debating Championship 2017

    Four of five national team members are from RI: Jonathan Yap (Vice-captain), Ryan Wee, Siobhan Tan, Wei Shu Yang

    Raffles Debate Academy Under-14s Debating Championship

    Organised a debate competition for 23 secondary schools nationwide

    Hodge Lodge Debate Series

    Debate-cum-Panel Discussion on Race in Singapore Seminar on Gender: Interrogating Masculinity

    Singapore Secondary Schools Debating Championship Adjudication

    Teachers in charge

    Ms Umarani

    Ms Ruth Koh