Appointment of New Chairman of the RI Board of Governors

Mr Choo Chiau Beng will be retiring as Chairman of the Raffles Institution Board of Governors (RI BOG) at the end of this year (2020).  Mr Bey Soo Khiang will take over from Mr Choo as Chairman from 1 January 2021.

 Mr Choo Chiau Beng    Mr Bey Soo Khiang
Outgoing Chairman,
Mr Choo Chiau Beng 
   Incoming Chairman,
Mr Bey Soo Khiang

The school would like to take this opportunity to thank Mr Choo for his exemplary leadership and contributions to RI.  His eight-year tenure spanned from 2013 to 2020, during which he served alongside three principals: Mrs Lim Lai Cheng (2013), Mr Chan Poh Meng (2014-2017), and Mr Frederick Yeo (2018-present).  He was guided by the principle that RI should always remain a school that is accessible to all deserving students, regardless of backgrounds. To that end, Mr Choo lent his experience as an old boy (RI Class of ‘64/’66) and worked with the principals to reach out to more schools in Singapore. The diversity of RI’s Year 1 and Year 5 student enrolment increased during his leadership, with students hailing from over 100 primary schools and 65 secondary schools in Singapore.

In tandem with Mr Choo’s vision, the school introduced D.I.C.E. (diversity, inclusivity and community engagement) in 2018 as a rallying call to strengthen RI’s student diversity. Two DSA domains were introduced to bolster its diversity efforts, namely Leadership & Character at Year 1 in 2019 and Malay Language Elective Programme (MLEP) at Year 5 in 2020.

Mr Choo is also a strong supporter of the Raffles Scholarship. This scholarship is awarded to both Primary 5 and 6 pupils to encourage them to work hard and excel in their academic studies, and Year 1-6 students in RI to help defray their educational expenses. Mr Choo has donated generously to the 1823 Fund, which finances the Raffles Scholarship.

“We are deeply honoured and grateful to Mr Choo for his outstanding service to the school.” said RI Principal Frederick Yeo. “Mr Choo’s leadership has brought Raffles to where it is today.”

The school would also like to express our deep appreciation to the following outgoing governors for their exceptional leadership and contributions to RI:

·         Dr Stanley Lai, SC
·         Mr Han Fook Kwang
·         Mr Perry Lim
·         Mr Lionel Yeo
·         Professor Jackie Ying
·         Mr Quek Shu Ping

Incoming RI BOG Chairman Mr Bey (RI Class of ‘71/’73) is currently Vice-Chairman of the Royal Golden Eagle (RGE), a resource-based industrial group.  He previously served as Singapore’s Chief of Defence Force (1995-2000).  We are confident that RI will continue to do well and excel under Mr Bey’s leadership and guidance.

The school would also like to extend a warm welcome to the following incoming members of the RI BOG of 2021:

·         Mr Tan Boon Khai (Deputy Chairman)
·         Professor Chong Tow Chong
·         Mr Aaron Maniam
·         Mr Chow Kwok Wah
·         Mr Jason Moo
·         Mr A Rajoo
·         Dr Habeebul Rahman
·         Mr Lee Kheng Nam
·         Mr Elvin Too*
·         Mdm Ooi Huey Tyng*
·         Ms Melissa Kwee*
·         Ms Pearlyn Chong*
·         Mr Suhaimi Zainul-Abidin*

*indicates new governor

Tagged Topics

#Announcements #Board of Governors #BOG

Related Articles